Message From Chief Tarbet

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

TarbetOn behalf of the men and women of the Redmond Police Department, I welcome you to our website. Redmond is a great community and I truly enjoy working with the many groups and individuals that contribute to improving Redmond’s health and vitality. I believe Redmond is becoming a community to envy because of the collective efforts of citizens, businesses, and organizations. This makes me proud to serve as your police chief.

My vision for the department is to make Redmond the “Safest Community in the State”. The officers and staff of the Redmond Police Department work toward the same cause. This is a lofty goal but one I know we can achieve with the support provided by the citizens. 

 The officers work 24 hours a day, every day of the year serving the citizens of our city. These men and women perform countless acts of heroism, compassion, sacrifice, and courage on a routine basis all for the cause of making Redmond a safer city. They also seek opportunities to form relationships with citizens and organizations to help improve the quality of life for every person living in or visiting Redmond.

We continually strive to be professional and ethical in all endeavors with our fellow citizens and work to improve our service level to the community of Redmond. We maintain accredited status through the Oregon Accreditation Alliance (OAA) to ensure our policies and procedures are of the highest standards. The department was granted reaccredited status in 2017 by the OAA. I am proud of this accomplishment and credit the officers and staff for achieving reaccreditation.

Thank you for your support of the department staff and officers. We are committed to providing you the best law enforcement service possible and ask for your feedback to achieve this goal. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns at (541) 504-3400.


Chief Dave Tarbet


Prior Redmond Police Chiefs

2007 - 2010, Chief Ronnie Roberts

2006 - 2007, Chief Jim Soles (Interim)

1999 - 2006, Chief Lane Roberts

1989 - 1999, Chief Jim Carlton

1970 - 1989, Chief C.L. "Speed" Durgan

1953 - 1970, Chief Milford Mooney

1947 - 1953, 7 various police chiefs

1945 - 1947, Chief J.R. Edgar

1937 - 1945, Marshall Athel Dudley

 1931, Marshall George Moore

1929 - 1931, Marshall H.C. Schumacher

1922 - 1929, Marshall Jams Toney

1922, Marshall Earl Malkson

1920 - 1922, Marshall Albert Julian

1912 - 1920, Marshall C.A. Adams

1912, Marshall Z.T. McClay